Thankful for November

“Winter is an etching, spring a watercolor, summer an oil painting and autumn a mosaic of them all.”  ~Stanley Horowitz

Each year I am thrilled to say goodbye to the heat of summer and welcome everything autumn! Spring may bring a feeling of renewal to some, but fall provides me with an energy like no other. I am thrilled with the crisp mornings of November, and love the evenings curled in a comfy throw.

Each year we begin this season with the tradition of Pumpkinfest, homemade applesauce, and a plethora of Starbuck flavors we love. November is the doorway to the Christmas season, and brings that feeling of anticipation even to the adults in our family. Even though the air is turning colder, there is something warm and welcoming with the month of November.

This year I am taking part in the 30 Days of Gratitude and reflecting on all the things – big and small – I am grateful for in my life. I am also pulling together a beautiful little “Tree of Gratitude” for my second grader’s class. They will write their sentiments on decorative little leaves, and hang them on the branches of the little “tree.” I cannot wait to read the comments from these children, and to see what their little 7 & 8 year old hearts appreciate.

After many years of being away at Thanksgiving, we are going to remain at home. We are going to enjoy our turkey and trimmings, and spend time doing -well, nothing. It will be difficult being away from other family members we do not often see, yet there is a great appeal to spending a day in PJ’s watching movies with my family! This November is being welcomed by all of our favorite things, as well as much needed down time!

 

1 Comment

Filed under Favorite Things

One response to “Thankful for November

  1. Stacey Simmons

    Once again, I love your words. We have decided to stay at home this year as well. My in-laws are not too happy about it because we *always* travel 8 hours to spend it with them. I told Mitchell that I needed some stress free down time.

    Like

Leave a Reply

