Alexander Was Right!

“I went to sleep with gum in my mouth and now there’s gum in my hair and when I got out of bed this morning I tripped on the skateboard and by mistake I dropped my sweater in the sink while the water was running and I could tell it was going to be a terrible, horrible, no good, very bad day.”  ( not to mention that I am pushing closer to 40 years old tomorrow).

I completely understand what Alexander was meaning. I loved this book as a kid…as an adult those days are just not that funny. I knew it was going to be a terrible, horrible, no good, very bad day when I woke up with my right eye completely swollen shut! Darn allergies. I sit here now listening to mini me sing Tom Jones – antihistamines probably make it seem a lot funnier than it really is. I can’t even explain that one other than somehow she picked up “It’s not Unusual…”

I digress though…It’s been one of those days where I wanted to just dive back in bed, cover my head up with my blanket and wake up tomorrow. Then I was reminded that I am pushing really close to 40 as of tomorrow. The thought of crawling into bed until next week sounded really good too – then I realized my oldest turns 14 next week. I shouldn’t be 40…And my first little girl should not be turning 14!!!

I remember when I thought 38, 39, and 40 were really, really old ancient! I am not old! I do not feel as if I should be in my late 30’s. I’ll lay my drugged up head down on my pillow tonight (and pray that both of my eyes are notswollen tomorrow after mowing the yard) and await my birthday. Tomorrow is a new day after all.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

