You Can Always Smell The Turkey Cooking

I love the holiday season. Thanksgiving has always been a favorite of mine. I enjoy the time with family, and it just feels good! There is nothing like stuffing ourselves until we can’t see straight! Not a year goes by that I do not think about Thanksgivings of past.
I always remember my Grandmother we called “Mom” hanging a spoon from her nose. She made it seem so simple. We all sat and laughed until we couldn’t laugh anymore. There was this 80 year old woman sitting there with Mama’s best silver swinging from her face. HOW she did that will always baffle me.
I cannot eat candied sweet potatoes without thinking of my Nanny. She LOVED them! Each Thanksgiving it was the first thing she went to upon entering the house. She didn’t say hello – she just went straight over to check the status of the marshmallows. There was always a second helping for her.
We’ve been going to Atlanta to Aunt Suanne’s for the past several years. It is a wonderful way to spend a long holiday weekend visiting with people you do not see throughout the year. We always have a Friday outing – this year we took all the kids to Stone Mountain Park. You can see Sarah and her cousin Michael in the picture on the coldest day of the year!
There are certain things we all love about the various holidays we spend together. I can’t stand being without my mother’s dressing, I completely love the Macy’s Parade, and I will always sample a bit of the turkey right off the bird before it hits the table. It drives me crazy smelling it cook for hours!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

