Fall/Halloween Celebrations

I have never been a real big fan of Halloween. I guess I simply liked the idea of getting loads of candy while pretending to be someone else. I remember Trick-Or- Treating in my neighborhood with my brother, and friends. We’d get back to the house, and we would all start the candy trading process. Reeses Peanut Butter Cups, or Snickers carried a lot of value.
Haunted houses, spooky things, and creepy traditions were not my cup of tea. I remember my brother assaulting a Werewolf at the JC’s Haunted House – where no Werewolf wants to be assaulted (if you get my drift). At some point that same night, I vaguely recall throwing up…probably from too many Reeses Cups rather than fear. I was the one whose candy was hidden by her parents the next day.
The apple hasn’t fallen too far from the tree…my kids are not enormous fans of all things Halloween. I tried to get them into the idea (more for my love of dressing them up). Mary Beth always pooped out after a couple of blocks, and Sarah is not a big fan of “Spooks” as she calls them. Much to my dismay, their candy does not disappear before I have to throw it out (of course, I hve my once over long before it hits the garbage).
Even though we are not big fans, we choose to celebrate a little Fall/Halloween way. Sarah was a little out of sorts from getting her blood taken, and refused to take a venture through a friend’s haunted garage. I guess that was a good thing anyway – she screamed bloody murder when a little boy growled at her with his face painted…nope my kids are not big fans of Halloween. I’ll just stick to cute Halloween things,and pumpkins! Oh, and the miniature Reeses Cups.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Fall/Halloween Celebrations

  1. Liz Forman

    Happy Birthday and Get Well Soon, Sarah!!!

    Sally,glad to see you blogging again…I, too, have been too busy to update mine much, but I have missed keeping up with you through yours!!! Love, Liz

    Like

Leave a Reply

