Sixty-Six

Yesterday we celebrated my father’s birthday. It is hard for me to comprehend the fact that he is 66 (In four short years he will be 70)! Don’t get me wrong, I am not trying to age him any faster. I just never have seen either of my parents “older” for lack of a better word. To me they are still MY age. I know it may sound silly, but I look at them as if they are contemporaries of mine – friends. They really are two of my best friends as well as the parents I love.

I know things are happening like arthritis, sleep apnea (a whole other story in itself), joint problems – all of the things that occur as you age. Trust me…I am completely aware that I am getting much older too. You can say I am burying my head in the sand, or not facing facts…the truth is that I want to keep them younger, and here with me. I know it is not in my hands, or my plan. I just want them with me for as long as God allows.
So, Daddy…the once very skinny man, a husband and father, the man who taught us what humor in life is all about, the lover of wildlife, the “Gaggy” that my girls adore, the friend to so many…Happy 66th Birthday. I hope you are as proud of your 66 years as we are of you!
Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

