The Soundtrack of My Life

Imagine your life on the big screen – the moments in time that are frozen in your memory. If you were directing the movie of your life, what would the soundtrack be? This was such a fun walk down memory lane for me. It also made me want to add some songs to my IPOD. Unfortunately, this is a long (but FUN) post for everyone who attempts this feat!“Music is an art form consisting of sound and silence expressed through time.” I just love that definition! I have segmented the “Sally Soundtrack” into stages, but I also have to list full albums as well as artists. There were those collections that had the most amazing songs that make it impossible to list one…so here is goes:

Early on I have songs that introduced me to an eclectic mix. What can I say? I was very young!
Da Do Run Run – Shaun Cassidy. I spun that 45 over and over and over.
Another One Bites The Dust – Queen. Another 45 favorite that I overplayed!
I remember the days with my dad’s best friend, Kelly Grayson, at the beach. We would ride in the back of Kelly’s old Jeep Wagoner with these songs playing. When I hear them I almost feel like I am right there again. Kelly is not with us anymore, but I still feel his presence when I hear these songs.
Long Train Runnin’ – The Doobie Brothers. Actually, anything Doobie.
60 Minute Man – Billy Ward & The Dominoes

Then, I hit Middle School…
Off The Wall – Michael Jackson. I had a fascination with him long before he became Whacko Jacko.
Boy, War, The Unforgettable Fire – U2! I cannot say enough about them. My musical life changed when I heard that first song.
Murmur, Reckoning, Life’s Rich Pagent – REM. Another group of musicians that had it going on!
And I have carried U2 and REM with me the rest of my life!

High School (talk about a eclectic mix)…
Misty Mountain Hop – Led Zepplin
Sugar Magnolia – The Grateful Dead
I Had the Time of My Life – Dirty Dancing. This one I have to explain…My very best friend, Benjamin, and I had an urge to record this song. We were at a theme park and actually paid good money to sing this together. Of course, we had NO CLUE everyone outside of the studio could hear it at the time either. We got into his little Red Rabbit and popped the tape in…we had to pull over because we were laughing so hard. “Nobody puts Baby in the corner.”
The Joshua Tree – U2. Another life changing sound. I think I would have to classify this as my favorite of all time.
Violent Femmes, The Ramones

Lees-McRae College
Sweet Child O’Mine – Guns n Roses. I stepped into a new world. My first college party, and that was blaring over the stereo.
The B-52’s, The Cure, REM, Pink Floyd. I hear any of their songs and think of Julie, Otter, “Boobie,” Bart & Larry.

College of Charleston
New Order, The Smiths, Fleetwood Mac, Hootie (They became friends of ours before they were known), Dillon Fence. I remember making my way through Charleston with Angela…singing and dancing. Seeing great live music – watching crazy Mary start fights. Finally getting to see U2 with Benjamin…driving all the way from Charleston to Charlotte and back together.

Even today
U2, REM, Ben Harper, Jack Johnson, Regina Spektor, JT… my list and soundtrack keeps getting longer. The “Sally Movie” will simply have to be a musical!

Over the years many influences have come into my life – Oldies, Rock, Bluegrass, Showtunes, Hip-Hop, kids songs. I have never limited myself to genres, as I feel good music is good music – period! Songs continue to make an impact on my life. My dear friends (I call my sisters) brought music into our relationships with breast cancer, and the 3-Day .We have our own walking and crewing soundtrack (yes, we ARE the famous Dancing Pit 5)! Music inspires – it evokes feeling. Robert Burton wrote about music in his work, The Anatomy of Melancholy during the 17th century… “it is a sovereign remedy against despair and melancholy, and will drive away the devil himself.”

So, what is YOUR soundtrack?

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

