They Make A Pill For Everything Else

Why on Earth can’t the pharmaceutical powers-that-be come up with a pill for patience? There is a pill for everything else, and some people today could really use it. I for one would only need to pop one here and there. In general I am a very patient person. My kids have definitely taught me a thing or two about that finer art. With them, you might as well call me Job. I must clarify something (particularly for those who know me well) – being high strung, and excitable are entirely different things. Though, I prefer to call it energetic.
I am not a person that huffs and puffs in a long grocery line. So I decided to come at the busiest time of the day – that is hardly any one’s fault. When a more “experienced” (being really politically correct here) driver is slowing up traffic – I patiently merge without stern looks.
We live in a society of instant gratification, and need to take a breath, stop and smell the roses. One day we are going to wake up and realize we are going nowhere fast.
Currently, I am dealing with something that requires a great deal of patience from me. Sure, I want to get the job done, and move on about my way. But, guess what? I am not in control. It is such a burden lifted when you relinquish control. Sometimes you just have to resign yourself to this fact -with time everything happens as it should. When we sit back and let everything take its course we will all find a greater peace.

“Learn the art of patience. Apply discipline to your thoughts when they become anxious over the outcome of a goal. Impatience breeds anxiety, fear, discouragement and failure. Patience creates confidence, decisiveness, and a rational outlook, which eventually leads to success.” (Brian Adams)

Leave a comment

Filed under Musings, What?

Leave a Reply

